“One with Himself I Cannot Die”

 

Worship was sweet this morning. Stephen had called me on Tuesday, about praying at the beginning of the service. I had forgotten, until about five minutes before-hand. It was of the Lord, because I didn’t have the time to over-dwell on myself, what I would say, or how I would say it. And I felt much more freedom as I stood on the stage and prayed.

 

A good start.

Dustin preached a great and hold-no-punches (yet again) sermon out of Song of Solomon. I appreciated how he consistently tied relationships and marriage and sex to the Gospel, and proclaimed that the Gospel offers hope for these things. After seven weeks of marriage, in the glory of it all, I’ve been feeling the weight of my responsibility. So these were good words

 

When we transitioned into the Lord’s Supper, I prayed that the Spirit might minister Christ to me in those elements. That I might experience the rending of any separation between myself and my Lord, that, as Calvin put it, I might be drawn into the heavenlies, and know the presence of the risen Lord in and with me, and I in him.

 

I experienced it powerfully, then (and somewhat close to mystically), the fact that I am truly united with Christ. As we sang the following song, I felt the profound reality that I have been united with the God-man, in whom my life is hidden, who is seated at the right hand of the Father. These words were sweet to me this morning:

Before the throne of God above
I have a strong and perfect plea.
A great high Priest whose Name is Love
Who ever lives and pleads for me.
My name is graven on His hands,
My name is written on His heart.
I know that while in Heaven He stands
No tongue can bid me thence depart.

When Satan tempts me to despair
And tells me of the guilt within,
Upward I look and see Him there
Who made an end of all my sin.
Because the sinless Savior died
My sinful soul is counted free.
For God the just is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me.

Behold Him there the risen Lamb,
My perfect spotless righteousness,
The great unchangeable I AM,
The King of glory and of grace,
One with Himself I cannot die.
My soul is purchased by His blood,
My life is hid with Christ on high,
With Christ my Savior and my God!

The power of what God accomplished in Christ amazes me, and I praise him that in him, I am assured of salvation and everlasting joy.

Appropriately, we followed the service with baptisms, and I watched as two among us were baptized in Christ’s death and raised to walk in newness of life.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every Spiritual blessing in Christ!

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Community, Crossing, Lord's Day, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

