Seminary and My Home Church

I initially thought that this post would reflect a bit on my first day of classes. But I came upon this post by Timmy Brister, in his series on “Blue Collar Theology.” He desires for theological education to become a local church, and not a parachurch, endeavor, which is, I agree, an important part of the church’s calling.

So I thought I would, instead, reflect for a moment on my home church, West Hills Community Church, where, by God’s grace, I was taught theology in a practical way — as part of a church body. Basically, I want to thank God that I grew up spiritually in a church that taught theology, and the weightier matters of Christian truth. At WHCC, under the leadership of a few men, I learned not just to feed upon infant’s milk, but solid food.

At WHCC I was introduced to John Piper, Jonathan Edwards, Spurgeon, John MacArthur, R.C. Sproul, and R. Albert Mohler.

I learned TULIP, but also soon learned that it cannot be the sum of one’s discussion about God.

I  learned that theology does not impose foreign categories upon Scripture, but instead organizes Scripture in a helpful way.

I learned that reading books is important.

I learned that “God is a Spirit, in and of himself infinite in being, glory, blessedness, and perfection; all-sufficient, eternal, unchangeable, incomprehensible, every where present, almighty, knowing all things, most wise, most holy, most just, most merciful and gracious, long-suffering, and abundant in goodness and truth.”

In short, I learned that theology is important. As yesterday’s post shows, I have learned man profound things at SBTS. But I first learned theology at church, and for that I thank God.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Education, Memoir, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

