On Worship This Morning

I had a bad attitude this morning, on our way to church, one because we were late, and, two, because I wouldn’t get to be in worship. Stephen, our worship leader, had called me Friday, and asked if I would pray in the service. I wanted to, but I couldn’t, because this morning Laura and I were on the rotation to work in “Little Groups”,  herding and watching 1-2 year-old kids.

Like I said, I had a bad attitude.

“This is not my gifting.” or “I’m too gifted for this.” or “I need to worship. I feel drained.”

Whatever my particular thought, I very spiritually justified myself in my misery.

But, on the floor of a classroom at KCD, where our church gathers on Sunday, playing with snotty-faced kids while trying to keep them from climbing on each other or licking an electrical outlet, God made it clear to me.

It was worship, there on the floor. Watching those kids and serving their parents and the Christ who loved little children. And who am I, to think that I deserve something more than such an opportunity. Jesus came to earth, to a snotty- and stubborn-nosed people, who did worse than climb on him for 55 minutes. And he served, he obeyed and he worshiped.

I ask forgiveness, for my haughty eyes and my proud spirit, and pray that God will use me however he sees fit.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Community, Crossing, Lord's Day, Ministries, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Worship This Morning

  1. Lee says:

    Despite my father’s outstanding example of service in the church I grew up in, I still needed to learn this lesson as a teenager. When I was about 15 or so, I was asked to use my ability at the piano for junior church (taught for many years by one Margaret LaHaye – an amazing, godly woman with whom it was a privilege to serve! She was well into her 70s at the time, I believe.) I don’t remember the details of my initial reaction now, but I know they were akin to what you described in your post. But I was challenged by the CE guy who asked me to play – “what are you going to use your gift for?” And duly convicted. The result being that I was blessed with a chance to serve with Mrs. LaHaye for a couple of years, something I still treasure nearly 30 years down the road.

Leave a Reply

