On Worship This Morning

I’m going to try to blog about worship on Sundays, as part of the discipline of enjoying the Lord’s Day.

Again, today, I felt that parts of heaven were revealed, that God’s people enjoyed his presence, and the name of the Lord was praised. I felt apathetic this morning, and confessed it to the Lord, and was able to praise him that the blood of Jesus covers even my apathy. That excited me, knowing that God loved his people (and me, specifically!) such that Jesus came and died, knowing that I would be complacent toward him (and often). I began to more dearly treasure God’s presence and life in me, and the Spirit began to overcome me in those moments, because I have been saved from myself, in spite of myself.

A verse in our final song spoke of, finally, seeing Jesus’ face. And that was a profound moment for me. I realized that one day the ever-present savior that I cannot yet see, will be revealed before my eyes. At that moment, as was prayed from the stage, “I will know fully, even as I am fully known.” That concept overwhelmed me during that song.

Also, seeing new people coming into our community encourages me, and it also gave me pause. Because a friend from work came to worship this morning, and, while he stood next to me, I lifted my hands in praise. I had to wonder whether I am excited about my savior’s love and my awesome God at work, in a way evident like it would be at church. Not in the same way, of course, but, evident nonetheless. It might not be, and that convicted me this morning.

I pray that God’s glory would overwhelm me, and the amazing grace he has shown me would seep from my life. When I leave Starbucks, I smell like coffee, and, may it be that I likewise reek of my glorious God — that people would know that I have been with Jesus.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Community, Lord's Day, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

