DeLonghi Magnifica EAM3400

Today, we bought an espresso machine. It was on super-sale, and I got a 30% discount, so we paid about 60% less than the original retail price. We paid for it with money from wedding gift returns.

Honestly, we did not make this decision lightly. Spending a lot of money on something like this seems extravagant, and definitely not “war-time.” I struggled with this purchase, even though it was something I really wanted to have. We prayed about it. Really, if I were to hear of someone praying about whether or not they should buy an espresso machine, I would laugh. I would think it was pathetic.

But we honestly didn’t know what we should do.

It’s hard to know where to draw the line with consumption — with buying “stuff.” I know it’s not intrinsically wrong to have a nice espresso machine. I also know it’s something we can definitely live without. There are kids starving in Africa, dying of AIDS, and going to hell.

And we bought an espresso machine. Hopefully, we made the right decision, and this purchase will honor the Lord. It sounds silly, saying that, but I’m sincere.

I was talking to my good friend Nathan recently, who was and will again be a missionary in Cambodia. We were talking about big church buildings and nice houses.

“I don’t think it’s necessarily wrong,” he said. “Money doesn’t solve the issue. The issue is the gospel.”

Maybe, the Lord will do more with the money for this espresso machine, through our practice of hospitality, by the ministry in our home, than he would if we donated it to our favorite ministry. It sounds ridiculous, but I believe God is big enough to turn something like an espresso machine into a tool for his kingdom.

I hope he does. I hope this doesn’t sound like justification, or me baptizing our purchase. I really want this purchase to glorify the Lord.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Hospitality, Miscellaneous, Stewardship. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DeLonghi Magnifica EAM3400

  1. Pingback: What I’m Scared Of « Almanac of Captivity

  2. Nathan Wells says:

    Hehe, “baptizing our purchase” – if you did that, it probably wouldn’t work any more (hmmm, maybe that’s why some sprinkle…).

    😉

    Have you ever read “True Discipleship”?

    I’m going through it again with the guys in my Bible study – it’s still a really good book and really interacts with some of what you have been talking about, and what we all really need to be interacting with.

    You actually can get it online – http://www.plymouthbrethren.org/page.php?page_id=4000

    Some of his other stuff is here as well: http://www.plymouthbrethren.org/author.php?author_id=8

  3. dad says:

    God made coffee…and it was good!

  4. Joe says:

    I was researching this model because I saw it on sale at Starbucks. I ran across your blog…

    You prayed about getting an espresso machine? It’s hilarious that some religious people will pray about anything and everything. Did you want God to make that decision for you so when you did buy it, you wouldn’t feel guilty? Good grief. If you want an espresso machine, use your own mind and decide for yourself. If you believe that God gave you your brain to think for yourself, then use it. (Which you obviously did because you really wanted that espresso machine – congratulations on your purchase.)

    From all the positive reviews I’ve read on this model, I think I’ll call Starbucks and tell them to hold it for me.

  5. dslavich says:

    Joe, I’m glad you found my blog.

    The Magnifica is a great machine (and it’s super sale right now). It went down to $449.00 retail today.

    As far as praying about it: the Bible says to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ (2 Cor 10:5). It also says that we should all things, eating, drinking, and, I think, making consumer purchases to the glory of God (1 Cor 10:31).

    I’m not trying to hide that I wanted the espresso machine. I’m only trying to say that I wanted to buy it with right motives. The Bible says to do nothing out of selfish ambition (Phil 2).

    So, that was my goal, to try to obey what the Bible says.

    I hope that doesn’t sound lame, or like I’m trying to make God make the decision for me.

    I know that I make decisions, and I made the decision to buy the DeLonghi Magnifica.

    I’m not trying to relief some sort of guilt, or, like I said, to baptize my purchase.

    I’m trying to make wise decisions that God would have me to make, because I believe one day all people will stand before Jesus and give an account for their lives.

    I also hope you’ll believe me when I tell you that I will pray for you.

    God Bless,
    Danny

  6. Pingback: Our first Staycation…Day 3 and 4 « The Slavich Family Shenanigans

Leave a Reply

