Creative Friday

An attempt to be creative: a poem.

“The Night I said ‘I love you'”

I knew I loved you,
And so much poured in, out, and through me;
There was a time, I’d thought,
Framed, like a picture in my mind, Tidy.

But I knew it and felt it, chose it;
But should I say it?
Myriad options in a balance, checking boxes.
And I see you there.

Wishy and washy, notions in my head,
Theoretic dogmatic and not real at all;
The frame was cracking and the picture afire–
So I said it and meant it and —
vomit!
it came.

We both sobbed so hard
that our bodies were shaking.
Lonely, together;
Your silence for hours.

Your conceptions were changing
Like my picture that burned.
Because love shocked us so,
And life apart was no longer an option.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Creative, Laura, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

