“Art”: Defined. Once and for all

UPDATED

For my Christianity and the Visual Arts class I had to write a definition of art.

Here it is:

Art is the skillfull and crafted, intentional expression of creativity, for (generally) non-pragmatic reasons.

Obviously, this issue is settled.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Art, Creative and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Art”: Defined. Once and for all

  1. brotherhank says:

    Sounds good. But riddle me this:

    How would you classify “bad art”? Would it be any attempt that lacks either 1) skill, 2) craftsmanship, 3) intention, 4) expression, and/or 5) creativity?

  2. Lee says:

    I don’t know Art personally, but since God created him, I’d have to agree with your definition.

  3. Danny Slavich says:

    Hank,
    I think that perhaps any attempt lacking one of these elements would be “not art”, and that an attempt with a very poor showing of one them would be bad art. Though, I need to amend my definition, I think, the more I ponder it.

    Lee, :)

  4. Lee says:

    Where’s Ben? I would think that he would have a lot to say on this subject…

  5. Pingback: What I’m Talking about « Lawn Gospel

Leave a Reply

